Immersion, Quality, Presence

I don’t have a clue. Ideas are simply starting points. I can rarely set them down as they come to my mind. As soon as I start to work, others well up in my pen. To know what you’re going to draw, you have to begin drawing… When I find myself facing a blank page, that’s always going through my head. What I capture in spite of myself interests me more than my own ideas.

Pablo Picasso

Ego throws up every distraction, every dissipation, every rationalization for why we must maintain distance, approach everything critically, and mediate every moment. Every analysis, every mediation of our condition – however it may be helpful – risks reducing complexity to complication. Remaining with the results of any plan of action – any developed momentum – risks bleeding attention away from an immersion in the moment, an engagement with quality, sheer un-mediated presence.

This is true in every realm of action. Even in the realm of art where the focus is on engaging with questions of meaning through an exploration of the potentials and limitations of a mediated relationship.

Media, middle, is what happens in-between. Immediacy is direct, but fleeting. Dogma, Ideology, Kitsch; take mediation too far. They fossilize insight. Whatever was originally a creative response turns into a barrier preventing any further capacity to respond.

There is something in between. A mediation that balances on the knife-edge between immediacy and frozen conditioning. This is a place for art.

Leave a Reply

